Chicago Home Buyer's Utopia: Resources — Real Estate Tips

    Community Research Center     Financing Center     Real Estate Services     Real Estate Tips     Seller Services

Driver’s checklist for the city of Chicago

Driver’s License
Within 90 days after your move to Chicago you need a new Driver’s License. To obtain this license you need three forms of identification; one of which must have your name, date of birth, signature and address with proof of Illinois residency. The license can be obtained at: 100 W. Randolph, 5401 N. Elston, 9901 S. King Dr. and 5301 W. Lexington. The fee is $10.

Auto Registration
Within 30 days after your move to Chicago you need to register your car. To do so you must have the Illinois Certificate of Title to show that you own the vehicle. This can be obtained from the Illinois Secretary of State Office, located in the Illinois State Building. You will then receive your registration paper and license plate. The fee is $48.

City Sticker
After 30 days of your move to Chicago, you need a City of Chicago sticker on your car’s windshield. It can be purchased at City Hall, 121 N. LaSalle, or from a currency exchange. The basic fee is $60.

Emissions Testing
Once your car is registered, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency will send you a notice stating a particular time period for when your car needs an emissions test.

The Illinois Seatbelt Law
The driver and front-seat passenger (six years and older) must wear seatbelts. Children under six years of age are covered by the Child Passenger Protection Act, which states that a child must be secured in a child car seat.

The Illinois Insurance Law
The law is mandatory that all drivers be covered by liability insurance.

Important Telephone Numbers
City of Chicago 312-744-5000
Driver Registration 800-252-8980
Vehicle Registration 800-252-8980
Chicago Police 312-746-6000